

04 Dorp Street Polokwane, 0699 NPO REG: 219-455 ENQUIRIES: CHAIRPERSON- Grace Sibara: 082 728 3446 SECRETARY- Lerato Sekgobela: 073 426 2218 TREASURER- Tiveka Mathumbu: 083 549 9654 Email: secretary@limpopowomenintourism.org.za

Media Release

04th October 2021

Limpopo Women in Tourism Chapter emerges with a new leadership at its AGM

Limpopo Women in Tourism Chapter held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on the 29 September 2021 at Garden Court Polokwane, where the new leadership was elected. The outgoing leadership of the structure served in office for the past two years and will now be replaced by the new office bearers. The new executive committee promised to work harder in order to grow the association and create awareness about the importance of women in tourism.

The Department of Tourism was represented by the Chief Director of Enterprise Development and Transformation, Maylene Broderick. She encouraged members at the AGM and indicated that, "We are very grateful to work with Limpopo Chapter of Women in Tourism as it is one of the chapters doing so well and the association managed to recruit ninety (90) members with a paid-up annual membership fee of R500.00. It is inspiring that Limpopo Chapter managed to be active during difficult times of the COVID-19 pandemic".

Present at the event was Ms. Keleabetswe Tlouane, Deputy Director General (DDG) at Limpopo Department of Economic Development, Environment and Tourism (LEDET), who said, "Our department as a principal to Limpopo Women in Tourism Chapter will provide full support at all times and encourage other stakeholders to also support the structure".

Women in Tourism is the initiative of the Department of Tourism and it drives programs for women in the Tourism Sector. Limpopo Women in Tourism is also supported and coordinated by the Limpopo Department of Economic Development, Municipalities and Private Sector.

The objectives for the establishment of structure include among others to:

- ✓ Enhance opportunities for women's participation in the workforce,
- ✓ Promote women entrepreneurship in the tourism industry,
- ✓ Raise awareness on key issues regarding women empowerment in tourism, with particular focus on young women and identify imbalances,
- ✓ Encourage mentoring and promote education and training for women in the sector,
- ✓ Promote and advocate for training facilities and hospitality schools,
- ✓ Raise profiles of Women in Tourism,
- ✓ Highlight challenges faced by Women in Tourism and drive to develop solutions,
- ✓ Assist women entrepreneurs in accessing market, information and resources relevant in growing their enterprises.



The new Limpopo Women in Tourism Executive Committee is as follows: Chairperson: Grace Sibara: Capricorn and Vhembe Districts Deputy Chairperson: Granny Matsaung-Mangena: Capricorn and Mopani Districts Secretary: Lerato Sekgobela: Capricorn District Deputy Secretary: Lefentse Mampuru: Sekhukhune District Treasurer: Stella Mathumbu: Mopani and Capricorn Districts Additional 1: Mahlatse Sape: Mopani District Additional 2: Lorraine Chitate: Capricorn District Additional 3: Retang Phaahla: Sekhukhune District

<u>District Coordinators</u> Capricorn: Motsana Mafalo Waterberg: Lebo Olifant Sekhukhune: Hazel Motshweni Vhembe: Madembe Muvhulawa Mopani: Gloria Maswanganyi

End

Released on Behalf of Limpopo Women in Tourism by

Lerato Sekgobela Secretary 0734262218 secretary@limpopowomenintourism.org.za